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Important Child Support Information

Information for Parents with
Court Ordered Payroll Deduction
Orders (PDO) to Deduct Child
Support from Income

Virginia law requires the court to order child sup-
port payments collected by PDO to be sent to the
Virginia Department of Social Services Division of
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) and then to be
sent to the custodial parent. DCSE must have a copy
of the PDO to send payments to the custodial parent.

DCSE also can provide other services* if an
application for services is submitted to DCSE.
Either parent or a guardian may apply for DCSE
enforcement services. To obtain an application, call
1 (800) 468-8894 or visit the DCSE website at
http://childsupport.virginia.gov and select “Forms
and Applications.” Without an application for servic-
es, DCSE can receive and send payments only; no
other services will be provided.

Your child support order, PDO, and/or application
can be faxed to (804) 692-1487 or mailed to:

DCSE Central Registry

Virginia Department of Social Services
7 N. Eighth St.

Richmond, VA 23219

* See “Child Support and You” for a list of other services.

What Happens When DCSE Gets
a Payroll Deduction Order?

Once DCSE receives a copy of the PDO or a
court order directing payments to come through
DCSE, a case will be opened in the DCSE computer
system so that payments can be sent when they
are received. A notice, including the DCSE case
number, and an application packet will be sent to
both the custodial parent (CP) and the noncustodial
parent (NCP).

How Can | Get Information
About My Case?

Automated payment information is available 24
hours a day, seven days a week. To obtain infor-




mation about payments credited to your account, call 1 (800)
468-8894. You also may obtain payment information on the DCSE
website at http://childsupport.virginia.gov “Child Support - Your
Case Information.” You must have your DCSE case number and
the last four digits of your Social Security number to access your
payment information by phone or on the Web site.

DCSE will send you a record of payments received and credited
to your account after receiving your request in writing. (Write to
the address listed on the back of this brochure and allow 10
business days to receive the requested information.)

How Are Payments Processed?

DCSE processes payments according to federal and state
requirements. This means:

DCSE must have a copy of the PDO or the order for support
that directs payments through DCSE in order to establish a child
support case and disburse payments to a custodial parent.

DCSE must divide payments received among all of a noncustodial
parent’s child support cases.

DCSE processes and disburses payments for established cases
within two business days of receiving the payment if the payer’s
Social Security number is included with the payment.

DCSE can deposit support payments directly into the payee’s
bank account with proper advance authorization. To obtain a
direct deposit application, call 1 (800) 468-8894 or visit the DCSE
website at http://childsupport.virginia.gov and select “Forms and
Applications.” Direct deposit is not available to recipients of
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).

What Else Do | Need to Know?

An annual fee of $25 will be assessed for each IVD case when
the custodial parent (CP) has never received Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and after $500 in child
support has been collected and distributed. This fee applies every
federal fiscal year (Oct. 1-Sept. 30).

A $25 fee for services will be charged when the applicant reapplies
for child support services within six months of requesting case
closure.

If you apply for DCSE services, DCSE can take actions such as
the interception of federal and state refunds and the attachment
of funds in bank accounts to collect past-due support.



* DCSE cannot initiate actions to collect support without an appli-
cation for services. This means if a noncustodial parent changes
jobs and DCSE does not have an application for services, only
the court can send a new PDO to the new employer. You must
contact the court to make sure that happens.

* DCSE will update a mailing address if the request is submitted in
writing. DCSE will provide a copy of the address change request
to the court. It is important that you keep DCSE and the court
informed of your current address.

* DCSE cannot determine how much child support is past due
and can make only limited adjustments on cases for which an
application has not been received.

* DCSE cannot close a case in which no application for services
has been made without authorization from the court.

* DCSE cannot initiate a review of the obligation amount without an
application for services if financial circumstances change.

* While the goal of DCSE is to provide the best possible services
to all citizens, please be aware that without an application for
services, DCSE is limited to processing payments only.

* If your case is terminated by the court and you continue to
receive payments or if you receive payments you are not entitled
to, you should contact the court immediately to request that your
case be closed or updated with DCSE to avoid overpayments.
Overpayments can result in a debt owed by you.

* When your child is approaching the age of 18 years or about to
graduate from high school, contact the court for appropriate action
on your case.

Does DCSE Collect Spousal Support?

DCSE collects spousal support if it was ordered with child support
and one of the parties has applied for DCSE services.

If your order is for spousal support only and the court has sent a
PDO to an employer directing that the deductions be sent to DCSE,
we will process those payments according to federal and state
requirements, but we cannot take any actions to enforce, change or
stop the order.

Division of Child Support Enforcement
Virginia Department of Social Services
801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219

1 (800) 468-8894 (toll free)
(804) 692-1487 (fax)
http://childsupport.virginia.gov
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